President's Message

Dr. Ridgley

In 1993 Dr. Sheldon Zinberg and a group of Primary Care Physicians (PCPs) and Specialists in Downey had a vision. They recognized that the HMO concept in California was flawed, especially for the senior population, so they formed a group and revolutionized the way medicine was practiced - CareMore was born. CareMore adopted the strategy of putting the doctors instead of the insurance in charge while giving them the tools and resources they needed to keep people healthy. The motto was "put people ahead of profit and everyone wins!"

I have been with CareMore since its inception when I originally witnessed its birth as a Medical Student and Resident recognizing that it was the most ideal way of practicing medicine. In 2006 CMGI became an independent Medical Group of which I became a Board of Director in 2009, and today we are still physician-owned and operated with the same philosophy of “patients first.” We have 16 Primary Care Physicians practicing at 16 different locations in Southeast Los Angeles and North Orange Counties.

Our doctors practice the highest quality medicine and are contracted with many IPAs, PPOs and HMOs. We are consistently top performers in quality metrics and especially excel in senior care, producing superior results for CareMore Health patients.

As the new president of CMGI starting 1/1/2019, I continue to be passionate about how our physicians should care for their patients with the team approach of the CareMore philosophy, and look to the future of a strong CareMore as we continue to develop and grow to keep up with our patients’ changing needs.

I hope you’ll take the time to peruse our website. If you are a prospective patient, please click on “Meet the Doctors” to watch video messages from each of our physicians to help you find a doctor that matches your philosophy and needs. If you are a physician looking to join a successful and stable group, or just want more information about CMGI, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Beatriz Torrado-Ridgley, D.O.
President, CareMore Medical Group Inc.